The current matric system is known as the National Senior Certificate (NSC). This came into effect from 2008.

Learners are required to take subjects from an approved list as follows: For the 2021 intake.


Fundamentals/Compulsory subjects:

  • 2 Languages (home language and first additional language)
  • Mathematics OR Mathematical Literacy
Accounting Engineering Consumer Studies
Agricultural Graphics & Design Dance Studies
Mananegment Practice Goegraphy Design
Agricultural Sciences History Dramatic Arts
Agricultural Technology Hospitality Studies Economics
Business Studies Information Technology Electrical Technology
Civil Technology Life Sciences Music
Computer Applications Technology (CAT) Mechanical Technology Physical Sciences
Religion Studies Tourism Visual
Arts Languages    
Additional Subject
Life Orientation    


*NOTE: All subjects are 20 credits except for Life Orientation and subjects like CAT which might not be counted for any credits in most universities/courses.

Learners will therefore have a minimum of 7 subjects to obtain their matric. We then take it a step further when one considers entry into tertiary education.